Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • August 2017
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

2018 Barbie Convention Theme

Posted by helen on August 4, 2017

An email from the 2018 Barbie Convention Co-chairs announced the 2018 Barbie Convention Theme, it sounds very intriguing.

Main Theme: On the Avenue With Barbie

No doubt whoever came up with this theme is a Vintage collector. I do not have any vintage dolls or fashions. but this set of ensemble can be quickly produced if my Silkstone Girls feel the need.  I don’t think they need it now, the sun is burning up the earth, who would be so crazy to wear a wool coat?

 

Three Official Events:

  1. “High Tea” Luncheon

I’m not an English, so these Low Tea & High Tea things confuse me.  It sounds  to me that “High Tea” is more like an evening meal, not luncheon. but  what do I know?    Tea is a complicated thing,  I don’t drink any Tea.

The “High Tea” doll is released before I started collecting,  I don’t have her.  I looked up on eBay, she is expensive.  I wont have her.

2. The Benefit Ball

I knew there was a “Benefit Ball” doll from 90s.  So I checked her up, oh, I must say this doll is not my cup of Tea.  The shiny gown looks Dramatic but the fabric is too cheap.   however, its a smart design, as it does not require a lot of work to create this “over-the-top” look.

3. Dinner At Eight

Jean Harlow’s stunning white satin gown comes to my mind whenever I hear “Dinner at Eight”. but Barbie probably has to cook dinner & serve the guests , so the white satin gown isn’t an option.

if you are preparing for 2018 convention,  may you be inspired by the theme.

(All the illustrations & photos are by Mattel, except the “High Tea” Sketch –I created this one as I couldn’t find one from Mattel)

7 Responses to “2018 Barbie Convention Theme”

  1. What a cool way to describe the next convention!!! I am so excited about next year’s theme. It looks like it has the potential to be really, really fun!! I am planning to go (and hope you decide to come too Helen) and hope the themes and location make it an affair to remember (yes, that is a corny reference to the movie).One can hope!!

    • helen said

      I know the 2018 theme is more popular than 2017 theme. glad you will be going, but I don’t think I’ll make it… have fun preparing & attending the convention!

  2. May said

    For me it’s not about the theme of each sit down meal or event it’s about the title of the Convention but I am looking forward to a really great time. My last convention was 2011 over seven years ago. I’m excited.

  3. Reblogged this on K!MsterDOLL.

  4. Linda Grant said

    You did the High Tea sketch?? Very talented!!! I love it. I am looking forward to the convention to see friends and fellow collectors.

Leave a Reply

 
