Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • April 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Something Blue

Posted by helen on April 9, 2016

The Oscar De La Renta Barbie Bridal doll hits the market with a big price tag $175. Her gown is a miniature replica of Oscar’s 2013 spring bridal collection “Something blue”

I don’t think I want to pay $175 for it, so here goes —-“DIY”, an easy solution.

If you appreciate the simplicity, she looks elegant without all these ruffles.

The Model is  Mattel’s 2015″Cinderella” Doll.

there is another design in this “something Blue” bridal collection, it has Vertical ruffles, I think I like this one better and will make it for Barbie later:

17 Responses to “Something Blue”

  1. steph-a-nie said

    Can’t even figure out which is which!! You are fab!!!

    • helen said

      thanks again, Stepha. … whichever it is, its all Barbie. but… I like my Cinderella Doll more than Lara Doll –Oscar’s new bridal Barbie lol

  2. Catherine said

    Your version is just as pretty or even nicer than the original. I love the Disney Lily James face. I have two and am tempted to buy more as they are on sale.

    • helen said

      thanks, Cathy!! I feel the same need as you do, I want to buy another Lily James Cinderella doll… perhaps next week I’ll be able to get one… lol

  3. Becky said

    You’ve made a really lovely version of the whole thing, Helen. Your doll beautifully models the lovely dress you made.

    • helen said

      thank you, Becky. since I have lots Lace & tulle in my closet, I thought I’d make one instead of spending $175 for another blonde doll with Lara face. I probably would have considered to buy the doll if she had Lea or Mermaid face, but Lara just couldn’t sell to me at $175. sorry Mattel.

  4. Lori said

    Beautiful, Helen! Your talent always amazes me! Did you get the email I sent? Hope to hear from you soon!

  5. I am a new follower of your blog. This is a great job! Did you also make the flowers on her hand?
    And the second dress looks so fabulous. I’m looking forward to your project for this dress. The way the fabric flows at the back… beautiful!

  6. Sandra said

    LOL, I love this version!!!

    • helen said

      thanks, Sandra. Everyone’s dollar value is different, although many think $175 is worth it, I’d say the doll will go down to $75 or less… lol

  7. Vivi said

    Your version is so much prettier than the original! Great job!

    • helen said

      Thank you, Vivi. that’s very generous of you for giving such compliments. lol if I had time to do some sourcing, I’d find better lace. but I just used what I have…

  8. Great work Helen! I think the tulle train on yours looks better than on the production doll! Anyhow nice to hear from you again. It’s been so long since we heard from you =)

Leave a Reply

 
