Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • March 2016
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

DIY -Making Popsicle Chairs for Barbie

Posted by helen on March 24, 2016

This year the Barbie Club Fan Members are gifted with a Chiavari (Tiffany) Chair,  I first thought I didn’t have a single extra square inch for chairs, I was going to throw away a couple of chairs of my own to make space in my living room,  but then I thought perhaps I could use chairs as doll stands, since these Made to Move dolls don’t come with stands(sadly, they don’t come with shoes, either)   I immediately thought Popsicle sticks are great materials to use.

I picked 2 packs of Popsicle Sticks in a discount store, they are in different sizes, the prices are the same,  $1.29 each pack. I also bought wood glue.

I used a pair of scissors to cut the popsicle sticks,  it really is NOT  a great tool, very hard to cut,   my right hand now has a big blister, perhaps a mini hacksaw or craft knifes work better, but I don’t have anything else, I only have scissors.

I avoided the “cutting job” to save the pain when I made the table,  so the table size is the Popsicle Size. the scallop edge probably isn’t a realistic look of a dinning table.

I wanted to paint them in other colors, all the hardware stores in my neighborhood have run out of business, the nearest one is 28-minute-walk away (according to google),  I didn’t want to make a trip there. I searched my kitchen cabinets & found an old can of white paint,   the nozzles on can of spray paint has plugged up with dried paint, I tried but was not able to unplug the nozzle tip…   so I poured the paint on the chair –the result is the worst paint job you have ever seen,  it would be nice if I sprayed it evenly with Gold Metallic paint. It really makes myself laugh whenever I look at this ridiculous paint job I have done.

after I made my set,  I also made a mess at home… glue stains, paint stains are everywhere..  I thought “hmmm…. someone who is very organized must have made them  before, probably there are easy-to-make tutorials on youtube,  so I searched, wow, there are plenty of them,  I think this one is the best, check it out if you want to make some chairs:

 

One Response to “DIY -Making Popsicle Chairs for Barbie”

  1. Becky said

    Very nice, Helen….thank you. Looks like your chair fits Grace perfectly.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
