Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • December 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Sweet Tea

Posted by helen on December 20, 2015

I ordered Sweet Tea when theBarbieCollection offered 25% off. I ordered 2 to be eligible for free shipping.

the doll has the new “Karl Lagerfeld” face mold, this sculpt only used twice before,  one is the Platinum Karl Lagerfeld, the other is the TokiDoki 2015 (both pink & platinum).

The sculpt is supposed to resemble Karl’s  favorite supermodel Cara Delevingne,  it is one of the most beautiful sculpts that has lovely “bone structures”, unfortunately, Mattel has not made a doll that truly brings out the beauty of this sculpt. what a pity!

“Sweet Tea” looks very Cartoonish,  her facial expression is strange

its like a little girl has just realized she has done something wrong, now is nervously  staring at her parent and waiting to be punished.

I wish I did not order her but waited for the “better looking ones” to come around.  since next year’s “Barbie Look” Theme is “Barbie on the Runway”, I suppose this face mold would be used again.

but what’s done is done, there is no turning back. what I can do is to give her a new makeover that changes the unhappy look

I did not paint eyelashes, b/c my magic paint brush had to retire, this one is done with watercolor pencils, I was unable to make the pencils sharp enough to draw fine lines… so no eyelashes… I see people paint Monster High dolls with watercolor pencils very nicely,  I guess Monster High dolls have larger heads, so its easier to work with pencils.  I did buy a special Sharpener just for these watercolor pencils, oh, mine, I had to watch Youtube video to see how to use this strange-looking sharpener. lol

Sorry, I didn’t like her Bangs, either.  No bang!

the doll has a very cheap looking articulated body,    not the  same quality pivotal bodies like these Jazz Baby dolls.

I don’t fancy any of these Articulated bodies unless the joints are invisible. a doll is a doll,  these exposed joints make them look like Robots. so ugly, I can barely look at them…

 

 

 

 

 

5 Responses to “Sweet Tea”

  1. Romona said

    Mattel: The demise of a great iconic doll.

  2. Brenova said

    Beautifully done! She looks amazing now!

  3. That’s the same doll? Wow!! You made her look 100 times better!!!

  4. Catherine said

    She looks much better.

  5. Sheri mallory said

    I love her new lip color. She definitely looks happier and more alive. Nice!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
