Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • June 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    282930  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

So Tragic: Neck Cracking

Posted by helen on June 6, 2015

I just noticed some of my dolls now have splits or cracks in their necks. These dolls have the bodies with the year 1966 stamped at the lower back. I bought them new and have not played or displayed them, but they just aged & damaged as time goes by.

So far I have found about 5  or 6 of them.  I need to take a look at the dolls with Shani 1991 body

This is something I didn’t know before, I’ll certainly be very careful with my future purchases.

6 Responses to “So Tragic: Neck Cracking”

  1. Sandra said

    OMG, that’s so sad to me. I guess it’s just natural that it deteriorates over time. I see that gorgeous steffie there. So sad. 😦

    • helen said

      yes, the “Goddess of Asia” Steffie is the worst. The others are Bowling Champ, Barbie Loves Elvis, Marilyn Monroe (7 year itch).. I have 2 Bowling Camp & 2 Barbie Loves Elvis. all have cracks. but if you don’t lift up their heads, you don’t see the cracks. only Steffie can not hide her wounds. 😦

      • Sandra said

        Wow, it looks like these are issues that you don’t even find out about until after a lot of time has passed. I’m afraid to look at my Goddess of Asia. I guess I’ll just leave her in her box and not move her around so it won’t be visible.

      • helen said

        I have 2 Goddess of Asia. I checked the other one yesterday, she appears to be fine. no cracks at this moment. but I have found another one with a cracked neck, its “Sees Candy–I left my heart in San Francisco”

  2. That’s awful. You buy collectible dolls and don’t play with them you expect them to last a bit longer. I guess the vinyl degrades. I always thought that neck splits etc were from being handled.

    • helen said

      Nothing Lasts Forever, I guess. so I m going to start downsizing again. letting go a lot of dolls. I’ll probably focus my collection on Doll Fashion instead of having tons of dolls. Doll clothes are easy to handle since most of them are made of polyesters, they take less space, too.

Leave a Reply

 
