Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • August 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

URBFC Raffle doll for 2014 Barbie Convention

Posted by helen on August 13, 2014

URBFC stands for “Unofficial Robert Best Fan Club”, actually,  its officially registered &  recognized by Mattel

our club made a donation to Barbie Convention raffle room as we did in 2011, 2013.

The donation includes an OOAK silkstone doll and many quality doll outfits and accessories.

here are some photos of  her:

We wanted  our Miss 2014  to have short red hair. so  “Suite Retreat” doll  was chosen as the base to start with.  the doll was donated by our club president Mike.  I served as her struggling Makeup artist and Stylist

One day I saw  this Museum Piece on internet, so I decided to make a similar dress.

Dior Cocktail dress (1953)

 

the Design Concept:

sketch

I decided to name her “Vanessa”,  a greek name meaning “butterfly” –as I love the amazing life cycle from caterpillar to butterfly

the transformation from Suite Retreat to Miss URBFC 2014:

She has a Puppy, I decided to chose “American Pug”

Making the box was a real pain. I started at 9PM and finished at 4:30AM

since convention has a “jingle bell” party, so I decided to give her a Xmas themed dress. neither red nor green, Silver was my choice:

Pink roses For Valentine’s Day:

Then I had a extra piece of crepe de chine dotted fabric, so I made her a day dress she could take a stroll with her puppy

putting together a poster:

the whole package:

we have very generous members who donated lots fantastic fashions and accessories, I do NOT have individual photos, I wish everyone had taken photos of her/his donations so I could post here.

She was a hit in the 2014 convention raffle room and attracted big crowds.

her ticket collecting box was full, so an extra box was added.

 

I  wished  someone I know would win this big lot. Apparently the strangers always have better luck. 🙂 Wherever she is now, I wish her happily ever after, as she is made with love.

 

3 Responses to “URBFC Raffle doll for 2014 Barbie Convention”

  1. Sarah said

    O

  2. Sarah said

    Oh I tried to win! She is absolutely wonderful. And, her costumes are as well. Someone has received the one of the best raffles in the room, with another being Helen’s donation of the lovely girl in a dress made from custom designed and printed fabric. Ah well, I have my photos. 😦

    • helen said

      I wish you had won, Sarah, how fun that would be?? did you win anything else? I myself never won anything from the raffle room. I have no idea who this lucky winner is, I also would like to know who won URBFC’s donation for 2013 Convention. but none of my friends knows. One of my facebook friends won my personal donation last year.

Leave a Reply

 
