Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • March 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

50th Anniversary Skipper

Posted by helen on March 18, 2014

when this doll was first sneak-peeked on BFC last year, I thought she was cute & I wanted her, since the wait was long, I went on eBay and bought one vintage Skipper to warm up my love for her
After that, I received a set of 2 vintage skippers as gifts. so I decided I had enough skippers, I was not going to buy the 50th Anniversary.

then, she was sold out on Barbiecollector.com faster than anyone could believe. some insane eBay sellers listed her for $240.

The doll stirred up a storm on BFC. There were a lot of hard feelings & harsh words, people were not happy.

but, she kept showing up on my computer screen even I was not looking for her, first, she was on Amazon $39.95, then she was on Yoyo.com ($30 with coupon), then she was on Walmart.com $39.99, I did not change my mind but informed my dollie friends about her avialibilities. some of them were able to snatch her up.

finally, she showed up on Kmart… I thought she was meant to be mine. so I bought her. paid $42.50 including sales tax. I also saw her on ToysRus online.

bad news or good news, she is going to have a twin sister and deal with Sibling rivalry. Mattel will release a Brunette in August. An eMail perhaps has arrived in your inBox if you are a BC’s Newsletter subscriber.

just my opinion, they could have made the Brunette’s outfits in other colors. such as Gold, Pink, Green… whatever…

2 Responses to “50th Anniversary Skipper”

  1. I’m glad to hear that there will be a brunette edition. I don’t know if the blonde one ever made it to any stores in Australia, certainly not to these parts. If she is not too ridiculously expensive I’d consider getting one although I’m not crazy about the outfit. There were lots of Skipper outfits I liked more when I was a child. Anyway at least I still have my own Skipper, a Titian, and while she doesn’t look minty she’s probably doing better for her age than I am.:)

    • helen said

      I wish you will be able to buy the Brunette! your Titian Skipper sounds fantastic. I am sure you both are doing fine for your ages. lol

      the same outfits have been over-done. there were orginal, 1994 30th Anniversary repro, 2014 50 Anniversary blonde, 2014 50th Anniversary brunette …

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
