Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • March 2014
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Fiorella

Posted by helen on March 1, 2014

My first doll of 2014, arrived this afternoon, thanks to the cheerful & handsome USPS delivery guy.  lol

the doll’s face looks just like the “Mila” doll from a couple of years ago. these lashes are kind of funny and very “cartoonish”. I know many “classic silkstone” collectors will not like it. but Mattel has no worries, different strokes for different folks, there are plenty people will buy it.

she has 2-tone hair, white & blond mix. her dress is made of cheapest acetate satin, it has  rough texture & feels very stiff. collectors call  it “Mattel Grade Satin”. I have always wondered why better fabric can not be used? you can find 100% silk dupioni at $7.50/yard in US retail market, and one yard can make at least 30 sheath dresses like this doll’s. I used to visit textile shows in China & USA all the time, nicer fabric really does not add cost as the doll only needs a tiny piece of it. Mattel needs to hire better sourcing manager who knows where to find quality fabric at lowest price.

I am not going to keep her, she will be given a new makeup and a set of new costumes. so, come back to see her new look tomorrow envening.

the design inspiration was  from Dolce & Gabbana 2012 fall collection.

6 Responses to “Fiorella”

  1. Janet said

    Mine arrived also the other day. I have only just begun to collect silkstones so don’t really have any older ones to compare her with. Do think she is prettier then her promo pictures. I also got Audrey Hepburn on Valentines Day with the sale you let us all know about. I know you didn’t like her, but she was as pretty as I thought she would be. And she is so different from all the other Barbie face molds, maybe that is why. Look forward to seeing how you change this one up.
    Janet

    • helen said

      see, Mattel got a new silkstone collector who buys Fiorella. lol
      congrats, Janet, on your new doll.

      I am with a silkstone group, most people say they do not like this kind of look.

      • Janet said

        well….to be honest I was going to pass on getting her cause she did look a little silly with the bows…..but I couldn’t pass on the price. lol Figured I could change her up if I wanted to like you are. Liked her hair.

      • helen said

        oh, yes, I used my $20 club reward, plus 20% off Valentine’s day sale. and free shipping, too. so her price was unbeatable. but.. who knows, maybe Kmart will put her on sale for $31 like they did to the Luncheon ensemble.

  2. Waiting mine to arrive, I’m starting to like her. I only bought her for the oufit

Leave a Reply

 
