Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • August 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123
    45678910
    11121314151617
    18192021222324
    25262728293031
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

ball gown Barbie goes on sale

Posted by helen on August 1, 2013

Take a look:

http://www.barbiecollector.com/shop/doll/ball-gown-barbie-doll-x8275

 

where the inspiration comes from:

Dior 2012 Fall collection

 

Barbie needs to hire new designers that can upgrade her styles,  not degrade.  the model looks very elegant, but Barbie’s seamstress could not do the right copy,  so,this  Barbie  ended by wearing  a black jersey knit t-shirt under a ball gown. Mattel can not even work with a piece of sheer chiffon?

Also, the doll has splayed legs.

I think I am passing on her.

3 Responses to “ball gown Barbie goes on sale”

  1. Sandra said

    I still want her but my wish list is too large right now. Hopefully she won’t sell out before I clear out and sell some stuff.

    • helen said

      if you really want her, perhaps you should buy her now, as she will be out very soon. but I wont pay $100 for her. $79 is the most.

  2. Aisha said

    I dont like her either – something seems to be missing, but wasn’t sure what.

    Looking at Dior’s version, I can see what was missing ! The material chosen, the colors and the embroidery (Im bored of black in doll clothing) – I agree with you, it wasnt translated so well !

    I think it would have been prettier if it had been a cocktail dress rather than a ball gown, and minus the brooch. Perhaps they were aiming for a Lissette vibe with the plunging neckline and that brooch ? it doesnt work for me

    Im still excited to see what they will offer in 2014 !

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
