Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • June 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    30  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

My New Brother

Posted by helen on June 30, 2013

I am talking about my new Sewing Machine!
It arrvied a couple of days ago, its “Brother CE8080PRW”

I deboxed it as soon as the UPS driver left. Its very different from the old one I have, the Manual book comes with it is a “shared one”, its good for serval different models, but my Model is not even mentioned in this book. I wondered if they put the wrong book in the box, its very confusing.

Its going to take me some time to figure everythig out.  here is the the first project with this new machine “gardern party”

3 piece set Silkstone Nostalgia Garden Party Dress Hat Purse with Vintage No. 1 Barbie Prints

3 piece set Silkstone Nostalgia Garden Party Dress Hat Purse with Vintage No. 1 Barbie Prints

then followed by bunch of sheath dresses:

Barbie OOAK Retro slim sheath Dress with red belt and silkstone doll illustrations
Silkstone OOAK Retro styled sheath dress w. vintage Barbie illustrations NEW
Now I am ready to move onto new styles.
13 Responses to “My New Brother”

  1. davedave84 said

    Lovely! I Hope you enjoy it! Do you reccommend any certain kind of sewing machine for Barbie clothes? I’m going to start making my own clothes, and I’d love your opinion 🙂

    • helen said

      before I bought mine, I checked what’s the most popular sewing machine online, it turned out to be “Brother CS6000i”, check it out on Amazon, so far it has 1700 reviews, if one out of 1,000 customers writes reviews, can you imagine how many have bought it, this model has less fancy stitch patterns than mine, but it has many more other features, like extension table, start/stop button, speed controler, hard cover, etc. mine doesnt have any of these 😦

      you really dont need that many stitch patterns, my old one only has 10 different stitches, I only used 3 kinds of stitches: “Straight Stitch”, “ZigZag Stitch” “Scallop Stitch”, everything else was wasted 🙂

      I would say CS6000! is a great choice, I originally planned to buy CS6000!, then I saw this CE8080PRW went on sale, so I bought this one instead, once I found out it doesnt have “speed controller” & “start/stop” buttons, I was disappointed. actually, its not a big deal, since the power switch on/off & foot controller do the same job. but I just felt since I paid much more, I should have these features. 😀

      go on Amazon to watch video and read reviews: http://www.amazon.com/Brother-Feature-Rich-Built-In-Auto-Size-Buttonholes/dp/B000JQM1DE/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1372720651&sr=8-1&keywords=brother+sewing+machine

      then, buy one from your local Walmart. 😀

  2. gretchen said

    I really like the garden party clothes; and the last dress with all the bright colors works well with the black Barbie.
    Helen, do you ever do make-over dolls for other people? Would you do an Elvira doll? And if so what would you charge? Or is too complicated? Just asking.

    • helen said

      Thank you, Gretchen. I used to make OOAK dolls for others, I did Elvira & Dracula dolls before. but I have stopped since last August. it takes too much time and work. so I am not up to challenges. I’ll stay with simple projects like making little dresses.

  3. Cindy said

    Congrats on your new sewing machine! Love all of your new dresses you’ve made! I was just curious as to where you find your cool barbie themed fabric? Do you print it on your printer? I hope you love your new machine!! Cindy

    • helen said

      Thanks Cindy, I love my new “Brother”. I got my Barbie themed fabric all over the places, eBay, Etsy, Artfire, Fabric.com, local stores, I’ll make my own fabric as soon as I have extra funds.. as making your own is EXPENSIVE.. I will soon order this one: http://img2.etsystatic.com/002/0/5433418/il_fullxfull.376914398_my8i.jpg

    • Cindy said

      I like that fabric too! Glad you love your new sewing machine!! Someday I just may get a new one too. I still use my Kenmore I got 30 some years ago from Sears but then again I don’t sew much anymore.

      • helen said

        perhaps your 30 year old sewing machine is more duralble than my new machine. I was told this kind of ne sewing machines only have 6 year life span. My old machine is exactly 6 years old. and I had to retire it, as the stitches are so loose, I just cant fix it.

      • Cindy said

        Had no clue! Will for sure keep a hold of my old Kenmore!

  4. Diana said

    OMGosh I LOVE the fabric with the barbies on it (that last photo)!!! Where did you get it?

Leave a Reply

 
