Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • February 2013
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    2425262728  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

The strong denial

Posted by helen on February 27, 2013

I can live with a flawed doll, but I can’t (under)stand these BFC people who have such strong denials and always want to act like Mattel’s defense lawyer when we say our dolls are defective.

there are  pictures floating on BFC forum. some people said they received the Luncheon ensemble doll with lopsided lips. As always,   quite a few Mattel’s royal supporters come to Mattel’s defense and  insist we all take bad pictures that made the dolls look bad or worse.

now please use your common sense and  tell me if I have received  a perfect doll from Mattel:

you really think the quality of this dress is acceptable??  one back panel is much longer than the other??   (you can see how the front looks like  in my previous post)

the lips:

wonky eyes, uneven lips, crappy dresses, messy hair…  I have seen them all,  but as long as the doll has all of her fingers & toes,  I wont return it.

15 Responses to “The strong denial”

  1. Minetta Brown said

    I am with you,it seems as if you just can’t please some people.I have about 1,500.Barbies & have yet seen “WONKY”eyes.I would like to know what I have been missing.If I had a child with “WONKY”eyes I wouldn’t throw him away:)

    • dollsaga said

      its okay to have flaws, but there is no need to hide or deny it. if you can live with it, keep it, if you cant stand it, return it. I usually dont return it.

      Good designers and responsbile production coordinators always appreicate the truth being told. only if they know what has gone worng, they can make the next project more perfect.

  2. davedave84 said

    Well, on one hand, the carelessness of detail does cast a bad shadow on Mattel. When one orders a product, they expect it to be as it should. The customer clearly deserves a perfect product. It’s bad business to cheat a customer out of what was expected.

    On the other hand, perhaps someday these imperfect dolls will be a collector’s item. We’ve all seen shows like Antiques Roadshow etc., where various items that have mistakes are often considered to be much more valuable than their ‘perfect’ versions.

    On yet another hand (if possible), there is a Japanese school of thought called Wabi Sabi, which celebrates imperfections and highly prizes such ‘mistakes’. While I typically expect perfection with dolls I pay well for, if I knowingly bought an ‘imperfect’ doll (prior to purchase) I, too, would enjoy having the doll.

    • dollsaga said

      My mom collects postage stamps, so I know the value of the “mistakes”, In Mattel’s case, its not about “mistakes”, its about skills. there are differences. A dress like that would not be worth anything. but… remember the 1st repro doll Mattel issued? there were mistakes, the doll should have arched eyebrows, they first painted her with curved eyebrows… so the one with round eyebrows is worh something… the one with arched eyebrows is $9.99.

      here is the doll with curved eyebrow (the brunette is rarer):

      here is the doll with the arched eyebrow:

      A mistake has nothing to do with crappy craftsmanships.

      • dollsaga said

        I also have to add, it would be worth something if its a mistake that rarely happens, but mattel has too many defective dresses, they may have more defective dresses than the perfect ones, so the bad craftsmanship will not be rewarded.

      • davedave84 said

        Yes, all this is very true. Indeed the bad craftsmanship is the case here, and these examples of this won’t make it to the collector’s table.

  3. barbradoll said

    wOw…I’m surprised this doll got by the Quality Control department…if Mattel still has one! I could live with the eyes and her hair, as shown. But the lips–no. And the dress–no. I’d have to send this girl back for replacement. One might typically find these flaws on a much cheaper doll…but I can’t abide a Silkstone dolll in this condition!

    • dollsaga said

      its actually not a surprise for me, I sold some silkstone dolls’ outfits on ebay, I made alterations on dresses like this before (Joan Holloway dress was also like this), as I knew buyers might complain. Again, some BFC members dont care, as they dont debox the doll and wont see the bad craftsmanship.

  4. Sandra said

    I don’t deny that there are flaws. I don’t complain either. I’ve never returned a doll, I guess I just deal with it. Unless there is something missing or a doll’s head arrived broken, I’d probably just stick with what I get. But to deny that Mattel’s craftsmanship and quality control has a lot of problems is just lame. Good thought provoking post. Yet again another reason why even when I was more active at the BFC board I rarely ever posted in anything but the picture read. Don’t need dolly drama. Have enough of my own drama.

    • dollsaga said

      I actully posted the pix on BFC just to wait for these people to say ” the doll has no problems, the problems are all yours”. lol

      I like to observe the differences between online groups. I am in many groups. and I found web designer groups are the most open minded groups, they always want to hear critiques, many threads are titled “critiques wanted”, and fashion groups are aslo very open to complaints & criticisms, the discussions are always very pleasant, even we dont agree with each other, no one attacks others’ taste or style.

      BFC Barbie Group is THE MOST NARROW MINDED group I ever encountered online, they cant stand different opinions. they hate to hear if you say you dont like the design, or the doll has quality problems. One person said something like “if you are new, it may be hard for you to make friends at Barbie convention”, another person immeidately responded that she felt offended, as Barbie people are the most friendly people she has ever known. — she certainly doesnt know many people. Barbie people are average people. Barbie doesnt have the power to make anyone better or wiser. I happen to find many people on BFC are bitter & lonely.

    • dollsaga said

      Here I quote one BFC member’s post:

      In general, it seems we’ve become a society of complainers – complaining to anyone and everyone who might listen, without taking action with the responsible party. Sometimes it’s because we’re bored or want attention, so we complain on a forum filled with people who might be able to understand but in reality can’t help with the issue. If the issue upsets you enough, return/exchange the product, simple as that. Sh** happens in production, whether it’s dolls or any other product. Somehow we expect perfection in an unperfect world and that becomes some HUGE important deal. My husband says everything must be right in the world if we only have something like this to complain about.

      • dollsaga said

        this person & her husband certainly have not designed anything and dont know how frustrated a designer feels when his design gets compliments but no orders. there are times we really only want to hear complaints & critiques. so we know what our problems are and how we can make improvements

      • Wow Helen, that’s really too bad what I’m hearing. It’s become much worse than when I left. People are so defensive. Jeez. So disappointing.

  5. Aisha said

    This is what ultimately turned me off of BFC and Barbie collecting in general – you never know what you are going to get, its always like playing russian roulette. If I have to have a doll – I just purchase her off ebay with actual pictures of the doll you are going to receive.

    The ignorance and condescending tone of the “minions” is too much – goodness forbid you submit any form of criticism. They should stop taking things personally – your silkstone is very shoddy. I cant even imagine how shocked you were to have received a defect and then have the community attacking you for pointing it out. I find Barbie collectors in general very nice, but there are some on the boards that just ruin it for everyone. (I asked for a Middle Eastern Barbie and omg the replies were completely out of line, I signed off then and there. Im pretty excited about the Moroccan barbie, though technically African and her kaftan dress is very outdated, still happy that she looks ME without the stereotypical belly dancer outfit, but thats another topic.)

    I purchased a silkstone (I forget the name – the one in the red dress, russian inspired) and she arrived with very obvious defects. The most notable one was she arrived with one eye with the gold glitter and the other one plain. Good thing I only purchased her for the outfit.

    The simple just return and exchange is all well and dandy – but is this the going to be the case all the time ? Why not reduce quantity and increase quality ? What about international customers – its not as easy to just get a replacement all the time. Repainting/fixing is another option, but I shouldnt have to do it for a doll that costs so much.

    • dollsaga said

      haha, the fight goes on, I decided to stir up their feelings more by adding another 2 of my unfriendly postings. b/c I was dugusted to see this:

      what I always find baffling is why so many people openly hostile to mattel(as in “quality control is an oxymoron at mattel”)shell out $25.00 every year to join a board OWNED AND OPERATED by MATTEL… if i was that unhappy with a particular company or it’s products i’d simply take my business elsewhere rather than join it’s fan club and then complain about everything.
      Posted by *****

      this person is repeatedly telling others to leave, as if not enough people have left. if you comapare the collector dolls edition sizes, they are much smaller than before, which means customers have left, the market has shrunken and the sales has dropped.

Leave a Reply

 
