Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • February 2012
    S M T W T F S
    « Jan   Mar »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    26272829  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Club Night—Monster High Madness

Posted by helen on February 28, 2012

I know little about Monster High dolls, so I took opportunities to learn about them when our local doll club hosted Monster High Madness event. we had a fun night, we even had a phone conversation with the original MH  illustrator Glen Henson   he explained how the production line was created &  developed. the idea was conceived in 2008, it took 3 years to creat & develop the production line.

let photos tell the story of our freaky night:

Clawdeen wolf, Frankie Stein, Draculaura

some boy dolls, oh, pls dont ask me about  who is dating whom, I have no idea!! Just my opinion, high school students should never be on the Dating Scene.

Cleo De Nile

They say this is a rare doll,  her name? C.A. Cupid?  Whatever….  I have told you before, I m having poor memories

Toralei Stripe & Operetta:

Spectra Vondergeist &  Operetta

Abbey Bominable

Not only I made a t-shirt  for myself to wear, I also made a travel doll to go with me, she is God Daughter of the Spider Queen:

 

Isnt she the coolest?  lol

I do not collect Monster High dolls,  I am only interested in the marketing lessons these dolls teach me.  I wondered  how Mattel knows these dolls would be popular, and why these parents were up against “secret Spell” Barbie dolls back 10 years ago,  Mattel was forced to recall all the Secret Spell dolls.  Now these Monsters seem to be  worse than “witches”, arent they? But parents have no problems with them — its beyond my understanding. but if I knew, I’d be the one whos making money, not mattel. lol

3 Responses to “Club Night—Monster High Madness”

  1. I think you made a huge effort to understand these dolls and brought home wonderful pictures. I, personally, don’t understand them either, but I’m not about to tell someone what to enjoy and not to enjoy. Kuddos to you!

    BarbieFantasy
    Susan

  2. sandra said

    I don’t know much about the either. Purposely. I just cannot spend more $ on a new doll collection although I love them. I think parents have become more accepting of monsters and vampires in the last several years. I think a lot of parents grew up with more sci-fi and fantasy stories and area allowing their children to “play” with these types of toys. I think a lot of collectors are also purchasing these dolls. I think monsters are pretty timeless and seem to have stayed off of Barbie’s usual hate bandwagon. The Cupid doll was a Valentine release and very limited. That’s what I heard. LOL! Thank you for the great report! I love yoru OOAK!

  3. dollsaga said

    Thanks Sandra & Susan, I did try hard to understand them, and remember their names. lol we watched an introduction animation movie, I didnt catch all the names and the relationships between these monsters. lol

    I guess time has changed, also these dolls reach different markets, younger groups love them… before Chritmas, my local stores like Kohls & TRU offered buy one get one 50% off, but I didnt buy any, now almost all the store shelfs are empty, no MH dolls..

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
