Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • November 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Oct   Dec »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Fancy Nancy –the Fabulous Fashionista

Posted by helen on November 30, 2011

Call me crazy! When I saw this Redhead Fancy Nancy, she reminded me of  a boy doll I recieved on one of my birthdays, a dear friend purchased this 18″ boy doll  in Shanghai,  he was a redhead &  wore cowboy outfits and cowboy hat, he had freckles on his face,  he was very very cute, but I wasn’t into dolls at that time, I had no idea what doll he was, my friend purchased him loose, most likely, he was a leftover after a Chiniese factory fulfilled its contract then dumped the extra dolls in the local market,  (same thing happens to  Barbie dolls, you can always find loose Barbie dolls in Chinese market with different outfits or hair styles).  My friend named the little boy doll “Tommy”, she later bought me a girl doll to keep him company, the girl doll had blond hair,   she had a  lovely but funny face, so my friend named her “Ugly Nini”.  I had no idea who the girl doll was, either.  both Tommy & Nini  were lost when I relocated. but I miss my friend sooo much, I havent seen her for years, when I saw this Little redhead Fancy Nancy, I thought of my friend,  and I cried… I brought this little girl home to comfort myself,  I soaked myself in the old memories…

 

Now, I Need to make her some new outfits for Christmas…

3 Responses to “Fancy Nancy –the Fabulous Fashionista”

  1. dollsaga said

    I cant believe I was still crying a river when I write this blog entry. why am I getting so sentimental….

  2. sandra said

    What a beautiful story Helen. Dolls have touched your life even back then! Maybe you did not realize it. OMG, now I am crying!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
