Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • August 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jul   Sep »
     123456
    78910111213
    14151617181920
    21222324252627
    28293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

2011 Barbie convention hostess doll

Posted by helen on August 10, 2011

a plain & simple doll, but her price went up to $546 on eBay (item # 230655564838) . I’ll never understand such a craze.  

Here is the doll —this doll belongs to my tabel Hostess Joan,  I took a couple of pictures but did not take a close look at her, to me, she is just a redressed doll.  

4 Responses to “2011 Barbie convention hostess doll”

  1. sandra said

    After a post on the yahoo group indicating that this is an OOAK just for this convention the price has shot up. The Limbo centerpiece doll looks like knitting pretty but she is also an OOAK just for the convention. Neither of these dolls have been released in the past so they have become very collectible. I like the one with the centerpiece a lot.

    • dollsaga said

      Quantity really doesnt matter to me, 1 pc or 100 pc, this doll doesnt have the quality of $546, haha, if the group of “Kitty, Ant & Monkey”, read this, they would get very angry again, and call me “Jealous”. 😀 “Ant at picnic” will threatern to hack my computer . too. lol

      • rnold said

        if the doll wears a half carat diamond or south sea pearl…i will consider of buying her

        but w that dress?…yah i agree its not really the quantity how the doll was released but the quality of how it was made and fashioned…any doll collector and fanatics can make an ooak doll…thats why im not to passionate on that and ironcally they will be priced tag as rocket high by the maker….its just a doll dress and fashion…..just my opinion

      • dollsaga said

        its ture, the Dress doesnt have the best fit, I can hardly believe the dress was made by mattel—perhpas its not by mattel but by convention. anyway, Barbie collectors are not picky, a marketer just has to know how to give “the dog a nice name”, someone out there would go crazy & buy it.

        I would pay $546 for a well-made & highly detailed doll Gown, for example, a Replica of the tiger lily Gown (by Elie Saab) Halle Berry wore at 74th Academy Awards–if all the details are accurate. I would not pay more than $16.99 for this hostess doll. its just a different way of collecting. I have different focus: Craftsmanship.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
