Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • July 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Jun   Aug »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
    31  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Archive for July 8th, 2011

Museum Collection — Gustav Klimt Barbie

Posted by helen on July 8, 2011

I like the face of this Klimt doll,  she is the only one in this Museum collection that made her way to my home. I dont really care for the other 2, the VIN​CENT VAN GOGH has very strange arms, sort like the Cindi Lauper doll. not sure what arms “LEO​NARDO DA VINCI” doll has, she is all dressed up, I cant see if her arms are arcticulated or fixed.

Here is my “Klimt” Barbie, I dont care for her dress, jersey knit is not my thing. but she really has a pretty face:

Posted in Dolly Daily | Tagged: , | 2 Comments »

Grace Kelly–to catch a thief

Posted by helen on July 8, 2011

I picked the Grace Kelly up early this morning at my post office, my post office is so broken,  Auto machine has been out of order for a week, now they put out a big sign “no Credit Cards & Debit Cards accepted, Cash only”, they certainly didnt deliver my package, instead,  they sent me a “we missed you note”,   I looked at the time they claimed they made 1st delivery, it was on 7/6,  9:01AM , clearly I was home. I didnt leave home until 4PM.  

anyway, here is the doll,  her facial expression isnt so pleasant,  her dress is less detailed,  the original design has a ruched front panel, the doll dress only has 3 pleats on the right side.  its a simplified version,  as if its made by an amateur sewer at home.   all the edges are unhemmed, but sealed with “fray check” (glue), some “fray check” will discolor the fabric as time goes by, it happened to some of my Barbie Gowns from early years.  you cant place high expectations on  $34.99 in these days.  the silkstone Grace Kelly is  priced $179, if I still get a crappy dress like this, I’d be really MAD.

 

here is  the original desgin, you can see all the details (pleats & a little flower) on the front panel are missing on the doll dress:

Posted in Dolly Daily | Tagged: , , | 7 Comments »

 
