Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • June 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « May   Jul »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    2627282930  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Dont Get bitter, Get smarter

Posted by helen on June 4, 2011

there is a Barbie Sales, there are a few eBay related threads floating around the Fan Club Forum bashing eBay sellers. read this one:

I just have to say how rotten it is for people to automatically buy the club dolls, and then turn around and put them on eBay for a nice fat profit. I was not able to buy the new club doll for my private collection, so I go to eBay and I’m amazed how expensive they are going for. It looks like some people are just out to make the money. I know I’m whinning, but it is really annoying.

dont get Bitter, get smarter, instead of “whining”, choose “winning”, Barbie goes to pepole who have more determination & tactics to get her.
eBay helps Mattel  to extend Barbie markets in the ways its AD Campaigns can never do. eBay helps Barbie to reach unreachable, gives collectors unlimited resources & choices.  havent you benefited from it?  The hightly-sought-after image eBay has created for these platinum dolls stimulates the markets, increases both existing & potential collectors’ interests, it gives them a sense of urgency to buy or collect.  if there were not eBay, many dolls will be still in BC warehouse collecting dust.

When Barbie prices go up on 2ndary market, the ultimate beneficiary is Mattel, if the prices go down, its time for Mattel to hire new marketing strategists.

speaking of rotten, people like John Edward are really rotten.

A dealer who makes living  by selling Barbie at profitable prices and  had 4 computers(that’s why the site had traffic jem and crashed) hooked up  trying to get the platinum doll  during the sales  posted following:

I do have to agree that it certainly is disappointing, but there are many many generous people out there as well, who go without recognition and still have the spirit of the hobby.  

I was going to do a drawing of a OOAK Barbie that was done to support my Team in Training run, when a very kind person who heard about what I was doing, sent me a POP doll which is now in the drawing.  He emailed me and said “expect her in the mail and I hope this compliments your drawing”.  
I just wanted to share, there are still fellow collectors who get two of something and are happy to donate/trade/sell at issue price a highly desired doll.
Kudos to those who have done this for your fellow collectors!  

first of all, I can only say the person who made donation had better “spirits” than the dealer herself.

Secondly,   I dont see any differences between people who sell a new POP to make profits and she sells Vintage Barbie to make profits  . people are driven by the market.   she sells rose Splendor barbie for $49, while some ebay sellers sold the same doll under $10.

Finally, a person  who sells the platinum doll at high prices can also be one of the most generous people who make donations all the time. many artists who donated their OOAK works to Barbie Convention have sold platinum Barbie at sky-rocketed  prices on eBay.

Dont think these eBay sellers get their dolls easily, they do put lots efforts on it.   one time  I knew when the platinum Japan  would be available online,  but I didnt have enough energy to stay awake until 3AM EST. I paid an eBay seller high price for the Japan platinum, he certainly deserved it as when he was competing with other  shoppers,   I was in sound sleep.

before the Splash of Siver went on sale,  I knew I’d be on dial-up,  but I want to get the doll from Bc instead of eBay.  so I did my “home-study”, played around the online shop, read its source files,  I was able to skip a few steps and went directly to the checkout as soon as the sales started.  I got the doll then went  to read these complaints on BFC board.

Speaking of “spirits of hobby”, here are mine:

I would never know who Jeff Gorden was if Barbie didnt tell me so. 

I would never explore the city I live  or places I visit  or eBay or Amazon the way I do now  if Barbie didnt lead the way.

I would never  watch the market so closely if Barbie didnt remind me of it. I certainly learned great things or strategies  from Barbie’s marketers.

didnt I mention how many wonderful friends Barbie introduced to me?

collecting Barbie is never about how many dolls I have. it about learning and reinventing yourself the way Barbie does.

deep down I do think people make complaints about not getting platinum dolls all the time are STUPID.   shh… dont tell anyone I said so. don't tell anyone

7 Responses to “Dont Get bitter, Get smarter”

  1. sandra said

    You really summed it up Helen. A lot of those complaints, in conjunction with the new limited platform for BFC, are the reasons that I don’t go to the BFC any longer. I am spending time on doll boards/webs that I enjoy and that don’t take for ever to load and aren’t full of broken links. I love Barbie but her fan club website needs to make some changes if I am to go back there and spend the time I used to!

    • dollsaga said

      “changes” are on the Way, Sandra! lol –“all the old will be new again”, Lou announced it:: they will go back to the old format. “changing back” is still a change.

    • dollsaga said

      someone posted ” I didnt try” then she wanted Mattel to raffle off these pltinum dolls, I replied: so far, I only have 1 membership, and I have no no extra dolls to go on ebay, but if she believes raffle is fair, then, I would buy 10 memberships , all the extra dolls I win will go on eBay, lol –just being naughty to show her I’d still have more chances to have the doll. 😀

  2. kathy A said

    Barbie collectors Vs Barbie investors, who are smarter? 😀 one wants to spend $86, the other wants to make $86. lol

    Bunch of “bitter” people out there.

    • m said

      Barbie makes me “stupid”. 😦 but not “All THE TIME” only “SOMETIMES” 😀

    • dollsaga said

      most people who tried it got it. luck is one thing, your tactics is another. people who used “quick shop” certainly are smart. not only “quick shop” simplifies the procecures, the page contains no Bulky flash files like its homepage does. it loads so much faster.

    • dollsaga said

      they both boost US economy, as long as they are “fighters”, not “cryers”, they both are smart. Who I dont like are these who never try harder but complain a lot

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
