Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • April 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

18th Annual NY Fashion Doll Show

Posted by helen on April 9, 2011

I have wanted to go to this doll show for the past 2 years,  but never made it.  Today, I finally got enough energy to go.  I boarded Train at 9:26AM,  its weekend, the train was pretty empty.

 I got off the train & wondered which way led to the show, I heard someone  call my name,  then, I saw  a bunch of  doll friends from NYC!  it felt great to see familar faces in a strange place. we ended up having a group of 8.

The show was a very samll one,  most dolls were Barbie Dolls. –speaking of “familar faces”– all the dealers at the show looked familar, I have met them at the Barbie Convention and bought stuffs from them before.

There are tons of Vintage clothes,  prices were high up to $2,600.00.  I never learned anything about vintage, I cant pay $2,600.00 anyway.  I think the set priced for $2,600.oo was “Gala Abend”, I knew it as I once wanted to make the outfits but only found the little nice piece of brocade  fabric I had wasnt enough to make that long coat.

I loved this set oufits, but I didnt buy it:

I have always wanted to have a Francie doll, and my wish came true, I bought this little cutie at $7.00, apparently she needs some help with her hair.

and some loose pieces

I also bought 2 silkstone “Secretary”.  That’s all I got from the show.

I saw the very first silkstone Lingerie #1 at this show, I noticed her face is  turning grey–the faces of  some earlier silkstone dolls are turning into grey,  the worst is Delphine.   they said the discoloration is unavoidable. I hope my pale debuts wont turn into grey soon.

We had lunch in a Mexican Restaurant  “Mariachi”,  the restaurant was very ready for “Easter”—lots Bunny Decos, we thought these Bunnies had funny expressions on their faces, and they looked scary.

3 Responses to “18th Annual NY Fashion Doll Show”

  1. sandra said

    Great report Helen. I’m glad you finally got to go!

  2. jessica troche said

    Where was this doll show at. Would live to take my niece to one in ny, long island, statement island,… Do she can see the beauty of this show..

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
