Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • April 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Mar   May »
     12
    3456789
    10111213141516
    17181920212223
    24252627282930
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

your life experiences & collecting habits

Posted by helen on April 5, 2011

everyone collects differenctly, your life experiences certainly have great impacts on the way you collecting.

I have lived in 7 cities (gee, all big cities, which means “large populations & small apartment space”) & 2 countries. everytime when I needed to move, I had to “trash” a lot of my “treasures”–simply not everything you loved could go with you. so I developed this rules: keep my place simple, dont pile up clutters, no extra fornitures, no unfitted clothes… my friends always told me that my place is too “empty” as I would not even hang a painting on the wall… wherever I arrived in a new place, I was ready to move to the next and I wanted to finish packing in 5 minutes… All becomes habits that I dont like to keep too much stuff and I dont buy souvenirs for myself  if I travel to new cities, I only buy the items that I will give away as gifts.

how this experience has impact my Barbie collecting?–even I know I wont make any move in the very near future (wow, NYC is the city I’ve stayed the longest, more than a decade now), I still dont want large collections, if it grows big, I will downsize it right away. and I certainly dont keep everything, if I bought a doll b/c I love her face, then, I put her outfits on ebay right away, or vice versa.

this week, I decided to find a way to sell off all of my repro dolls, as I purchased lots silkstone dolls last week. since my repros all have vintage sculpts, same as the silkstone dolls, I wont miss them if they leave me.

but its a tough task to find them new homes without losing too much money

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
