Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Archive for March 22nd, 2011

what have you learned from Barbie?

Posted by helen on March 22, 2011

I am not sure if its a tribute to Japan or an insult to Japanese People   3 dolls have nothing to do with Japan,  and Mattel clearly  labeled them “Chinoiserie” collection, not “Japonism” or “Japonisme” collection

“Japan has copious amounts of national pride” —you’d better get it right if you really wanna show your respect.

some Americans seem to worship Japan –but they’d never go any deeper to explore a little bit more about cultures.

Posted in Dolly Daily, truly Silly | Tagged: , , | Comments Off on what have you learned from Barbie?

Barbie as …

Posted by helen on March 22, 2011

I have never been a fan of any celebrities or movie stars or pop singers, I may like a few things they did, a few movies they made or a few songs they sang, that’s all about it–I like their works, but  I dont worship them. The images  Media or their PR agents painted for them may just not  reflect who they are.  when I worked in downtown Soho,  we often bumped into these “celebrities” on the streets,  I never recognized any of  them,  it often was my coworkers telling me: “Pay attention, she is…”   lol -do I care?   once we encounered another superstardom, my coworkers :”OMG, Look!” I asked “who is he?!” my coworkers : “you dont know him?! you must be 80 years old” –lol I could be 110 years old and died 20 years ago.  worse than that:   I bumped into my next-door neighbor on the street yesterday,  I didnt recognize him. that was embarrassing for sure. 😀

the point is, I dont care who Barbie portraits, if she want s to be a celebrity, that’s fine, but the doll itself has to be pretty and wear fine outfits.   In most cases, I would rather watch these celebrities & stars on silver  screen, they really dont have to become a doll and take a place in my doll showcase. so far, I only liked 2 movie star dolls Mattel made:  Elizabeth Taylor & Vivien Leigh. the rest just dont meet my standard. Audrey Hepburn was such a beautiful actress, but Mattel’s dolls are just not as pretty as the actress herself,  although there are some likeness,   the essence of her beauty is just not there!

a very few “Barbie as…” dolls have made their way to the “finest doll list”.  Barbie is more appreciated when she is just being herself.

Posted in Dolly Daily | Tagged: , , , | Comments Off on Barbie as …

 
