Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • March 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Feb   Apr »
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    2728293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

Ekaterina–2011 Barbie Fan club Doll

Posted by helen on March 2, 2011

she arrived early this morning when I was still in sound sleep. it isnt bad to start a new day with her.

with $99 price tag, she does not meet my expectation or standard. I love her hair color, her facial screening is fine as well, but her costumes are so CRAPPY!! it must be swen by one of the Amateuer sewers on BFC board, I would not pay $10 for such crappy work.
they are not lined, the neckline is a disaster, I dont know what shape it is, I guess its supposed to be round or overall shape, the sewer badly tortured it, apparently the sewer had no skills to sew smooth lines and keep the neckline in shape, its not symmetric! 2 darts on the front panel is supposed to be straight, but they slant to the left, and one dart is much longer than the other, again its not symmetric… when I look at such low quality work, I just lost interes in Barbie, and wondered if I was the only unlucky  one who received such badly made costumes. you see the excitment on BFC, many people opened photo thread showcasing this doll, is it necessary to repeatedly open up so many photo threads for her?  annoying If I were the mod, I’d shut all of them DOWN!  😀

She does not have pantyhose to match her fur outfits.

5 Responses to “Ekaterina–2011 Barbie Fan club Doll”

  1. Sandra said

    I’m sorry to hear that. I haven’t received mine. Just sell the outfit on ebay. I lot of people wanted it and not the doll. Your pictures make her look really pretty. Hopefully I’ll get mine soon.

    • dollsaga said

      if I were someone who purchased this set of fashion, I would want to return it. the photo doesnt really show the details, but it is really bad, the seams & lines are not straight, all slant to one side. the 2 darts on the front panel, see it? one is extended up to her chest, the other is way under… they are not straight either. the odd-shaped neckline perhaps is the worst I have ever seen on a silkstone doll.

  2. Art said

    Shame of you Mattel!!! I don’t know what happen these days inside the Mattel factories.
    It’s not the first time, they need to send a quality inspectors to verified the products are O.K.
    I made a complaint to Mattel Mexico a couple of months ago about a the quality of a Collector doll and they were really sorry about the situation, they changed me the doll and gave me a $50 dollars Mattel gift card, maybe you should do the same!!!

    • dollsaga said

      $50 gift card, lucky youm, Art! I can only make a complaint on Fan Club borad, but no one will take it serious. I have seen people make complaints, so I dont bother. I heard these outfits were made by housewives at home. Perhaps every housewife in a village was making them, so there wasnt any quality control. some women are more skilled than others.

      • Art said

        Really, I did’t know about the seamstress housewives!!! In Mattel they are “concerned” at some point with the quality versus price about the Collectors for years but sometimes it’s like they didn’t care about us the costumers.
        The other side of the coin, China, Malaysia, Indonesia, their economies are growing faster so the their payments, that’s why the prices of the dolls are higher and higher!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
