Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

100 good wish quilt

Posted by helen on January 17, 2011

this project is  not for my Barbie doll, but for a real doll, and I am NOT making a quilt, I am just adding 2 little pieces to it.

An adoptive mom is collecting fabrics to make “100 good wish Quilt” for a 2-year-old little girl with special needs whom she is adopting from China., I consider myself a pretty lucky person  & my fabric will  pass my good luck to this  little girl!

The mom asks every donator to contribute at least one piece of 12″x12″ quilt square,   then write your good wishes on a notecard, you  also need to add a piece of fabric scrap to the card–the scrap should be  the same  fabric as the 12″x12″  quilt square,    so they can match your good wish with your quilt square

here are 2 pieces of  quilt squares I selected. if you recall, I have used them to make Barbie doll dresses to celebrate  July 4th and the Moon Festival  they are perfect for celebrating  this special girl’s new identity as an American citizen & honoring her Chinese Heritage.

I actually spent quite some time making the card, oh, its much easier  to make  a card than doll dresses but still takes time.  I drew a little girl wearing Chinese mandrain top, then cut out little pieces of fabric shaped like her top and pants, then glued them to the card, done! kind of cute, isnt it?
100 good wish quilt

Inside the card: ( fabric scraps in heart & flower shapes, the little notes underneath explain why I chose them, plus my 2 good wishes for her)

The Post office closed today as it s martin luther king’s birthday,  I’ll send them out tomorrow. if you are curious about what the Mommy has collected,  you can see  one of her photos here, if you wish to contribute quilt squares and send her good wishes, email me for her address. Thank you!

2 Responses to “100 good wish quilt”

  1. Jamie said

    Helen, the fabric and cards came today and they are *so precious* – thank you so very, very much!!!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
