Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • January 2011
    S M T W T F S
    « Dec   Feb »
     1
    2345678
    9101112131415
    16171819202122
    23242526272829
    3031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

its new years day!

Posted by helen on January 1, 2011

have you read this funny saying:

Youth is when you’re allowed to stay up late on New Year’s Eve. Middle age is when you’re forced to.                                                                                                                                                                                                     —-Bill Vaughn

So that’s the age differences. I  am reading some angry postings on BFC, a group of  adults hate new Playline Barbie dolls so much, and are frustrated that mattel designers dont listen to their “Opinions”!

playline dolls are aimed at age 3 to 12 year old children,  millions of kids worldwide are surveyed by Mattel every year to find what they like & dislike.  Not only marketing experts, many child psychiatrists also participate the surveys.  Playline dolls  have appeared selling well. the sales report decides  if changes are needed.  

so, if the designers  or marketing researchers have not asked for your opinion, that’s b/c you are outgrewn your innocence and on your way to be an old  grandparent.

its very much like you see a baby is liking  his bottle,  but you  yell  out  loud:  “I  dont like the taste of these formulas but I want to  buy them for myself,  heck, make them the way I LIKE!”  do you really expect  the factories will listen to you, they probably just suggest you see a shrink.

let the little girls  have some pink & glitter,  let them have the big headed princess… they are not for me, but I dont demand Mattel to make every doll the way I like. I had my days & my ways!

I really dont like this girl, but I leave her alone:

One Response to “its new years day!”

  1. sandra said

    A about 2000-2006 the playline dolls became very sophisticated and modern and less playlike. The only playlike dolls were the mermaids and fairies. With end of the Fashion Avenue, and the beginning of Fashion Fever, playline dolls were almost as nice as the collector dolls. I think that is what people are still longing for! As we all know, the shorty bodies came in and My Scene kind of got phased out (in the US) and M decided to make a big distinction between playline and collector. That continues to this day but some cannot adapt!

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
