Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! dollsaga.ecrater.com

  • December 2010
    S M T W T F S
    « Nov   Jan »
     1234
    567891011
    12131415161718
    19202122232425
    262728293031  
  • Recent Posts

  • Archives

the price puzzle

Posted by helen on December 21, 2010

some Barbie dealers/sellers set the doll price  3 times higher than its  Regular Prices,  even the doll is avilable everywhere in major local or online retail stores  such as  Toys R Us,  Walmart ,  Target …

here is an example, “I dream of Jeannie”,  she is neither hot nor rare,  she is just another doll, you can buy her from your local Toys R Us or ” Barbie Collector”  online store

 regular  retail price  $34.95   shipping $7.95 on  http://www.barbiecollector.com/node/7523#page-20

but this seller  demands you buy a lot of 2 for $239,  that’s $119.50 each.  shipping $19.95  http://tinyurl.com/249eksq  you’d think if you buy 2, you should get some quantity discount,  NO, you pay triple.  and the seller call it “wholesale lot” 

the seller is  not joking, some people do pay high prices.

I just dont know  what kind of buyers  would rather pay $119.50  instead of $34.95?  what kind of marketing strategies the professors didnt teach me?!  I am puzzled.

 not only lower price, lets talk about service, too dont you believe  Mattel’s “BarbieCollector” is more reputable and offers better services than this eBay seller?  I do.

2 Responses to “the price puzzle”

  1. sandra said

    That is not the current doll available on bfc. It is the older version of I Dream of Jeannie. But still that is overpriced!

  2. dollsaga said

    the older version? LOL, okay, my mistake, but the good news is the older version can be as low as $15.00 on eBay. look at this one:
    http://cgi.ebay.com/Barbie-Dream-Jeannie-/350424397917?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item5196ebf85d

    she is brand new, Never removed from the box, $15.00 sold!(shipping $11.55)

    I should have bidded on her. there was another one that ended at $19, shipping was lower, I almost bought that one, b/c someone asked me to make a set of costumes,I was too lazy to make it, so I thought “why dont I just buy this doll and give him the costumes and keep the doll for myself?!” 😀

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

 
