Helen's Doll Saga

Go nuts for Dolls! Please visit me at: http://dollnut.com

A girl you know named “Darya”

Posted by helen on May 14, 2012

I missed USPS delivery on last Friday and had to make a trip to pick up my package at post office. my post office is always crowded.. long line, long wait… today the PosterMaster was on the floor offering some customers his “fast service”, so the line could move faster. he helped to find my package and noticed it was from “Barbie collectors” so he said he used to be a Barbie Collector who collected all the porcelain Barbie dolls… what a surprise! Barbie really has huge fan bases.

Coming home with me was 4 silkstone dolls, but only this Darya is the one I have not had in my collection until now:

I like her pretty face, very festival, but I am not a big fan of this type of costumes. we know its inspried by McQueen, McQueen has many pretty designs, why did this Darya steal this one, perhaps she thought this one represents her “Russian” heritage.  but if I were her, I’d pick whatever sells better… I’d grab this one or this one, the doll would have been sold out long long times ago if  she wore one of these dresses.

 A card came along with the package:

A nice card,  but I prefer a doll sketch instead of these words. even just a line drawing…  as it would make the card collectible.

11 Responses to “A girl you know named “Darya””

  1. dollsaga said

    all the dolls I ordered from pink week sales are here, but credit card bills have not yet paid. :D

    • Sandra said

      I ordered the Silkstone book in the sale. That’s about it. Congrats on Darya! Can’t wait to see her receive the Helen touch!

      • dollsaga said

        I wanted to order that book since the price was good, but decided to go with the dolls. I’ll debox Darya when I make a space for her. she needs a new dress for sure.

  2. She is very beautiful and I do like all of the embroidery on the dress, but I’m with you; she would have looked much better in one of those other dresses. (unlike the models who wore them, ewww)

    • dollsaga said

      McQueen’s models are not the pretty b/c their makeup artists dont want them to be pretty. so you look at the dresses not their faces lol

      This doll reminds me of Snow White. have you seen “mirror mirror” ,that actress is nohting like Snow white, :(

      • ha ha! I guess they don’t want you looking at their faces; they want you to look at the product. I want to see that movie so much! I can’t wait; it’s too bad though about the actress; it would be nice. You’re too cute! :D

      • rnold said

        yes…..shes snow white indeed

  3. Marisol said

    Congrats Helen!!!! Darya is stunning!!! I ordered a second one to re-dress. Think I am in the minority, but I like the dress. And love the boots. Convention is getting close!!! See you in about seven weeks. :)

  4. Timothy said

    I ordered her and the book as well. Helen, redress her in one of the two mcqueen u posted? hehe

  5. Dee said

    Hey Helen,
    I agree! The McQ dresses do resemble something from Mirror Mirror ….There you go helen.. …your next project Would love to see Darya in either one of these.

  6. rnold said

    though the embroidery looks nice and intricate so i think its ok.but the puff sleeves im not liking it…..and the silkstone party dress is onther collaboration from this doll minus the puff beads the red over skirt and less intricate emroidery

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 113 other followers

